h1

RAW PICKLED ONIONS

February 1, 2013

 Dear One,

If you are reading me for the first time, welcome to my blog, and thank you for stopping by. If you have been here before, thank you for visiting again.

I pray you all had a wonderful festive season.

Do you like pickled onions ? I do, but I don’t like that the shop-bought ones all seem to have sugar in them … So I set to make my own, and I am so happy I gave it a try, as making your own raw pickled onions is as easy as 1.2.3.

You can make pickled onions by pouring boiling vinegar on the onions, but I prefer to use cold vinegar, as I find that it works just as well. If you are pressed for time or if you prefer, you may slice up your onions before picking them, but I prefer whole pickled onions.

This is how I make a jar full of picked whole red onions :

Raw pickled red onions

about 15 tiny red onions

about 1/2 a litre malt vinegar (enough to cover the onions)

2 tbsp pickling spice (I use a mix of coriander seeds, yellow mustard seeds, dried red chillies, dried whole ginger, cloves, black peppercorns, allspice berries and bay leaves)

crystal salt or sea salt

The smaller your onions, the trickier it is to peel them whole … The magic here is to soak them overnight in plenty of salty water. The next morning, the skins will almost come off by themselves. Drain the peeled onions.

Stack the onions in a jar big enough to contain all the onions and the vinegar, add the spices, pour the vinegar.

Allow the onions to pickle in a quiet place for at east a week.

That’s it. Enjoy in salads, sandwiches, with cheese, or on their own …

Would you like to use this article on your blog, website or in your newsletter ? You are welcome to do so, as long as you include the following text with it :

© 2012 RAW FOOD ETC Want to look good and feel great by including more RAW FOOD into your diet ? Get FREE healthy raw food recipes, articles and tips from https://rawfoodetc.wordpress.com/ 

What do you think ?

